Chocolate Chip Cookies – First Attempt

Image

Alright, so I made these cookies yesterday. And in less than 24 hours, there are only crumbs left.

Ingredients

1 cup unsalted butter, softened

3/4 cup brown sugar

3/4 cup white sugar

2 extra large (or jumbo) eggs

2 tsp vanilla

2 1/4 cups all purpose flour

1 tsp baking soda

1 tsp salt

2 cups semi sweet chocolate chips (or 1 300g package)

Directions

Preheat oven to 325°; cream together butter and both sugars until smooth and fluffy; add remaining wet ingredients and beat until smooth. Add all dry ingredients to wet mixture (a little at a time) and mix with a spoon to form dough. Wrap dough in saran wrap (place it over top, still in bowl) and chill for 30 minutes. On a baking sheet, spoon out dough and press down with the back of a fork. Bake for 15 to 20 minutes or until bottom of cookies are golden brown.

Image

This was my dough after chilling it. My little boy kept me busy for a good hour before he went down for a nap. So of course, the dough stayed in the fridge longer than what the recipe indicates. Which was fine. It really made no difference by the time I got my cookie sheets out and ready.

Image

This recipe easily makes two dozen large cookies. Plus, I had enough left for three more. But everyone was sampling the dough after that, so I only had one extra, which made 25 cookies.

Image

Do not over bake!  I set my timer for 20 minutes, and started checking after 15, but still managed to keep each pan in the oven for 23 minutes.  Unless you want cookies that are only good for dipping in milk, I’d keep a close eye on them and take them out after 18-20 minutes.

Other than that, I forgot to add the second teaspoon of vanilla. I only realized this while I was typing the recipe above.

With those mistakes aside, they are actually pretty good cookies. I’ll definitely be trying them again soon (probably in a few weeks), and I’ll be sure to follow the recipe when I do! Hahaha.

Leave a comment