Peanut Butter Balls

IMG_0171

I made these, and another yummy treat tonight after the Little Bug went to bed.

Ingredients

Filling-

1 cup peanut butter, softened

1 cup icing sugar

4 tbsp (or 1/4 cup) butter

1 cup Rice Krispies

Coating-

6 oz chocolate chips

2 tbsp paraffin wax

Directions

Mix butter, peanut butter, icing sugar and cereal together by hand. Roll into 1 in. balls, place on wax paper lined baking sheet and refrigerate for about 30 minutes. After they’ve been chilled, melt chocolate chips and paraffin wax using double boiler method. Dip each ball into chocolate, coating evenly. Allow excess chocolate to drip off, then place back onto waxed paper. Chill until chocolate hardens.

IMG_0160

A few years ago, my mother and I made these together one night. It gets messy when you’re forming them into balls. My advice is to wash your hands with cold water every few minutes and dry quickly before going back to work. Also, I keep an ice pack handy to hold on to. That way the temperature of my hands is lowered slightly, so the peanut butter wont melt as fast. It can take a little time, this way. But It’s worth it, if you like sweet, peanut buttery goodness.

It’s kind of like a Reese’s Peanut Butter Cup, only a little sweeter. And since it’s so sweet, I recommend only having one or two at a time. I’m speaking from experience here… The time my mom and I made these, I made a pig of myself and regretted it soon after. Hahaha.

If you’re going to make these for a gathering, make sure everyone knows they have peanut butter in them. I know, this should be a given. But hey, some people forget sometimes…

Anyway, I’ll be posting another yummy recipe tonight. And it’s another easy one, too! 🙂

One thought on “Peanut Butter Balls

  1. Pingback: Peanut Butter Bbq Sauce Dip | Straddle The White Line

Leave a comment